The New York State Pet Dealer Licensing Law became effective July 1, 2002.
You must be licensed as a pet dealer if your facility sells or offers to sell nine or more dogs and/or cats per year
You must also be licensed as a pet dealer if you engage in the sale of more than 25 dogs and/or cats, born and raised on your premise, per year to the public.
Pet dealers may include pet stores, pet brokers, breeders, and non-incorporated rescues.
There are two exceptions to the above requirements:
Duly incorporated humane societies are exempt.
- Breeders who sell or offer to sell less than 25 dogs and/or cats per year that are born and raised on the breeder’s residential premise are exempt from mandatory licensing.
To obtain a pet dealer license, an interested applicant should submit a completed application to the Department with the appropriate non-refundable application fee. The application can be accessed below.
License fees are paid annually and are non-refundable. Pet dealers selling or offering to sell more than 25 dogs and/or cats to the public must pay a $100.00 application fee. Pet Dealers selling or offering to sell between nine and 25 dogs and/or cats to the public must pay a $25.00 application fee.
Once the Department receives and approves the pet dealer application, we will send an acknowledgement letter. In the following months, the Department will conduct an inspection of the facility to ensure compliance with Article 26-A of the Agriculture and Markets Law.
The pet dealer will receive a New York State Pet Dealer’s license number once the license is approved.
Licenses are valid for one year from issuance. Licenses must be renewed 30 days prior to their expiration date.
Pet dealers must also ensure the dogs and cats they are selling are vaccinated for rabies. New York State accepts a three-year rabies vaccination for dogs and cats on interstate health certificates. It must be noted on the health certificate that it is a three-year rabies vaccine. The health certificate must also have the vaccine product name and date of vaccination recorded on it.
Pet dealers must also provide a Veterinary Plan to the Department, and may also need to provide an information statement, disclosure of animal pedigree, and other documents to their customers. Please find more information below.
Guidance & Best Practices
Some best practices that all licensed pet dealers should follow include maintaining clean animal housing; providing food and water; monitoring housing temperature; maintaining required vaccinations; obtaining appropriate health certificates; monitoring animal health; adhering to isolation and biosecurity guidance; documenting sales; handling medication appropriately; and protecting consumers. Learn more below.
Related: Shelter & Rescue Registration
Offering animals for adoption? You may be required to apply to be a part of the rescue registry.
Use the document below to learn whether you need to register as a rescue or become a licensed pet dealer.