Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor | Richard A. Ball, Commissioner

Advisory Council on Agriculture

The Advisory Council on Agriculture was formed initially in 1971 by the passage of the Agricultural Protection law. The Council provides advice and recommendations to the Commissioner of Agriculture and Markets and other state leaders on matters affecting agricultural districts and farmland protection, as well as any other issue of importance to agriculture in the State.

The Council’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to, oversight over:

  • the creation and review of Agricultural Districts
  • right to farm law cases
  • farmland protection grant applications
  • agricultural assessment values
  • eminent domain and other public acquisitions
  • notice of intent cases
  • sound agricultural practice opinions

The Council meets a minimum of once per year and provides and annual report of its activities to the Governor and Legislature. Department staff assist the Council in arranging meetings, setting agendas, researching matters of interest to its membership, and preparing its annual report.

Members of the Advisory Council on Agriculture:

Neal Rea, Chair
Cambridge, NY 12816
Amy Machamer
Holley, NY 14470
David Haight
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Frank Beyrodt, Jr., Vice Chair
Baiting Hollow, NY 11933
Samuel Casella
Canandaigua, NY 14424
Jim Bittner
Appleton, NY 14008
Lesa Sobolewski
Avon, NY 14414
Brian Reeves
Baldwinsville, NY 13027
Kimberly Ann Wagner
Marlboro, NY 12542

Minutes of Advisory Council on Agriculture Meetings: