LSell to licensed dealers who make
prompt payment.

iAdhere to the prompt payment
provision of the law. The law requires
dealers to pay producers within 30
days of sale and delivery, unless you
have a written agreement to extend
the payment terms. Payment terms
cannot exceed 120 days from the
sale and delivery.

LGood business requires good records
with clear terms of sale. Keep copies
of receipts, invoices, delivery and/
or weight tickets with a complete
description of the terms of sale.

LBe conscious of the time limits to
be eligible for financial protection
under the Agricultural Producers
Security Program.

LDiscuss issues of nonpayment
immediately with the dealer to
resolve any problems.

LDiscontinue selling until your account
is current. If you are unsuccessful
in resolving the payment problem,
notify the Department immediately
and file a complaint by calling
1-800-554-4501.

AGRICULTURAL
PRODUCERS
SECURITY PROGRAM

Article 20 of the New York State
Agriculture and Markets Law (AML)
requires farm product dealers to be
licensed. The law provides financial
protection for producers against
nonpayment for their products sold
to licensed dealers from the dealer’s
security and the Agricultural Producers
Security Fund.

The Agricultural Producers Security
Program is administered by the
New York State Department of

Agriculture and Markets

For more information, call
1-800-554-4501
or call direct at 518-457-8861

Visit the Department’s Website at
www.agriculture.ny.gov

AGRICULTURAL
PRODUCERS
SECURITY

PROGRAM




AGRICULTURAL
PRODUCERS
SECURITY LAW

PURPOSE OF THE LAW

- To help ensure that producers are
paid fully and promptly

- To ensure payment to producers in
the event a farm products dealer
defaults in payment

- To suppress and prevent any unfair
and fraudulent marketing practices

ELIGIBLE PRODUCERS

Typically, any person who grows or
sells farm products or livestock in
New York is eligible to participate.

STATE PRODUCTS COVERED

All agricultural products grown or
raised in New York State are generally
covered by the law with the exception
of dairy, eggs and timber.

WHO’S SUBJECT
TO A LICENSE

Dealers, including commission mer-
chants, net-return dealers, brokers
and processors who buy or receive
New York farm products from

New York State

A
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YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES AS A PRODUCER

1. Do business with a licensed dealer.

Only transactions involving the sale
of farm products to a licensed dealer are
covered under the law. Before selling your
products to a dealer, make sure they are
licensed by calling the Department at 1-800-
554-4501 or consulting the Department’s
website at:
www.agriculture.ny.gov/programs/apsf.html

2. Do not continue to sell products to a
dealer who has failed to make timely
payments.

The law covers only transactions where
the sale of farm products occurred within 120
days after the earliest transaction between
you and the dealer, which remains unpaid
at the time you file a claim, regardless of
whether that earliest unpaid transaction is
included in your claim.

The law requires dealers to pay you
within 30 days of the sale and delivery of your
products, unless a written agreement exists
between you and the dealer that extends the
term for payment up to a maximum of 120
days.

3. File aclaim when a dealer has failed
to make timely payments.

If a dealer has failed to pay you in
a timely way for farm products you sold
and delivered to the dealer, you should
file a complaint with the Department.
If the matter is not resolved or the
Commissioner has reason to believe that
there has been a default by a licensed
dealer in making payment to producers,
the Department will provide notice for
producers to file claims within 30 days.

To be eligible for coverage, all claims
must be filed no later than 365 days after
the sale and delivery of the farm product,
but in no event, beyond the expiration of
the 30-day period provided in the notice
published by the Department.

Claim forms may be obtained by
contacting the Department at 1-800-554-
4501 or by downloading the forms from
the Department’s website at:
www.agriculture.ny.gov/programs/apsf.
html

**This pamphlet only highlights the requirements of the Agricultural Producers Secu-
rity Law (Article 20). It is recommended that you or your attorney review the law in
detail to fully understand what you must do to maximize its benefits for you,
including additional protections like providing the dealer with notice that you have
chosen to preserve the trust benefit provided by AML section 250-a.




